October 21, 2012

Twin Peaks Soundtrack Design Mix 5:
Extended Twin Peaks

Twin Peaks Soundtrack Design Mix 5:
Extended Twin Peaks (37:35)

Because most of the music of Twin Peaks was created before scenes were filmed, it was the job of the music editor to fit the tracks to the action on screen. Often times that meant editing the tracks down or only playing portions of them when tracks were lengthier than the scene itself. But sometimes it meant extending shorter tracks to fit longer scenes. This was most often done by looping sections of the tracks. This mix gathers those used, along with a few originals.

Listen to the mix on Mixcloud here. And check out the full size art in the Twin Peaks Archive Extra tab above.

01. Americana (TV Version) (1:19)
Extended version heard in episode 18.
(James rides his bike out of Twin Peaks)

02. Solo Percussion 4 (Extended) (2:17)
Extended version heard in episode 2.
(Albert and his men first arrive at the sheriff station)

03. Audrey's Prayer (Leland's Wake Clean Mix) (6:39)
Extended mix of Audrey’s Prayer (Synth) and Audrey’s Prayer (Clarinet & Synth) from episode 17, but without the percussion. (Recreation of the original with percussion can be heard in mix 3.)
(Leland’s wake)
Mix includes:
- Audrey's Prayer (Synth Version)
- Audrey's Prayer (Clarinet & Synth)

04. Audrey's Prayer (Extended) (3:51)
I created this version shortly after the second soundtrack was released as a way of creating a longer version of the track. A looped/extended version only appeared once in the series when Donna says goodbye to James in episode 23. Mine is looped a little differently than in the episode to hide the loop a little better.

05. Hook Rug Dance (Extended 1) (3:19)
As with the above, I created this version before really studying the tracks in the series. The scene in episode 25 where Cooper tells Annie the penguin joke is looped slightly differently.

06. Dick Tremayne's Swing (Extended) (2:12)
This version was very briefly released from the Archive before being removed. This extension/mix was created by fellow TP fan Qbin. (Listen to his Mixcloud mixes here.)

07. Ben's Battle (Extended Mix) (2:50)
Extended mix heard in episode 21.
(Audrey arrives in Ben’s office with Jerry)
Mix includes:
- Ben's Battle (Solo Trumpet)
- Ben's Battle
- Ben's Battle (Solo Percussion)

08. Wedding Song 2 (Extended) (3:01)
Extended version heard in episode 25, when this Milford wedding track was repurposed as an RR track.
(Cole, Cooper & Truman enter the RR, Cole introduces himself to Shelly, he can hear her)

09. South Sea Dreams (Extended) (2:53)
Extended version heard in episode 10.
(Cooper & Truman visit Jacoby’s hospital room)

10. Laura Palmer's Theme (Ethereal Pad Version) (Extended) (2:50)
Extended version heard in episode 23.
(Cooper tells Albert he will handle Josie as Truman looks on; Andrew & Josie toast “To beginnings… And endings”)

11. Laura Palmer's Theme (Guardian Angel Version) (Full) (2:16)
The Archive release combined two versions of this track into one, omitting a portion. This is the full version of the two joined tracks.

12. Love Theme (Dark) (Extended) (4:46)
Original extension based on the song structure of the original version of Love Theme.